Are SEO courses worth it?
Free SEO courses are worth it for anyone starting out. A paid SEO course or community is worth it only when it gives you at least one of three things you cannot get free: a named practitioner you can question, material that is dated and tested rather than filmed once, or working tools. If it offers none of those, it is a free course with an invoice. And whatever it offers, it should publish a refund window; two of the paid products still on sale do not.
The decision rule
- Is a named person accountable for the material, and can you reach them? Live calls with the founder count. A support inbox does not.
- Is the material dated? If you cannot tell when a lesson was made or last checked, assume it predates AI Overviews.
- Does it show its tests? A course that publishes experiments with dates and results is teaching from evidence. One that describes best practice is repeating what was true when it was filmed.
- Is there a refund window? Seven days is common among the communities. Tech SEO Pro and The Blueprint Training state that all sales are final.
- Do you have something to test on? No site, no client, no employer's site: no paid course is worth it yet.
Which paid products pass
| Product | Price | Refund | Live access | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tech SEO Pro | $697 once | None | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI SEO Rainmakers | $279/mo | 7 days | Weekly 3.5h call with founder | 9 September 2026 | source |
| The Blueprint Training | $199/mo | None; 30-day cancel notice | 2 live calls/week with founders | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Traffic Think Tank | $119/mo | Not stated; cancel anytime | Not stated | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Yoast AI for SEO training | With Yoast Premium ($118.80/yr) | 30 days on the bundle | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI Ranking by DataWise SEO | $27 to $47/mo | 7 days | 2 live calls/week (Pro tier) | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Ahrefs SEO Course for Beginners | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Semrush Academy | Free | Free | Webinars, no cadence | 9 September 2026 | source |
| HubSpot AEO Fundamentals | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
When they are not worth it
A certificate you need for a CV: take the free Semrush one. A course you want to finish and be done with: the market has almost stopped making those; The Affiliate Lab, ClickMinded's course and Authority Hacker's Authority Site System all closed or were withdrawn between December 2024 and 2026. And a monthly community when you will not spend the hours: every community product we cover is only as good as your attendance.
If that did not solve it
For the scored comparison of the nine products still for sale, with the rubric published: the buyer's guide.
Sources
Facts on this page were read from the sources above on 10 September 2026. If a provider changes a term, email the page URL and the source and we will correct it.