What should I ask before buying an SEO course?
Before buying an SEO course, ask twelve questions: who teaches it and can you reach them; when the material was last updated; does it publish tests; what it costs over the period you will use it; what the refund window is; how you cancel; whether there are live calls and how often; whether there is a community and on what platform; whether it covers AI search or only classic SEO; what tools or templates are included; who it says it is for and who it says it is not for; and whether it is still for sale. The table below answers the ones that can be answered from official pages, for all nine live products.
The twelve questions
- Who teaches it, and can I reach them? A named practitioner on live calls is the top of the scale. An anonymous team is the bottom.
- When was the material last updated? Dated lessons or dated weekly drops pass. Undated fails.
- Does it publish tests? Experiments with dates and results, or case studies with numbers, or nothing.
- What does it cost over the time I will use it? Monthly memberships cost more than one-time courses within a year.
- What is the refund window? Read the terms page, not the sales page.
- How do I cancel, and with how much notice? One click on Skool; 30 days' notice at The Blueprint Training.
- Are there live calls, how often, and with whom?
- Is there a community, and on what platform? Skool, Slack, Circle, Facebook.
- Does it cover AI search, or only classic SEO? And if it does, is it a lesson or the whole curriculum?
- What tools or templates are included? Working software beats worksheets.
- Who does it say it is for, and who does it say it is not for? Products that publish a poor-fit list are being straight with you.
- Is it still for sale? Four well-known courses are not. See the red flags article.
Answers for the nine live products
| Product | Price | Refund | Live access | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tech SEO Pro | $697 once | None | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI SEO Rainmakers | $279/mo | 7 days | Weekly 3.5h call with founder | 9 September 2026 | source |
| The Blueprint Training | $199/mo | None; 30-day cancel notice | 2 live calls/week with founders | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Traffic Think Tank | $119/mo | Not stated; cancel anytime | Not stated | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Yoast AI for SEO training | With Yoast Premium ($118.80/yr) | 30 days on the bundle | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI Ranking by DataWise SEO | $27 to $47/mo | 7 days | 2 live calls/week (Pro tier) | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Ahrefs SEO Course for Beginners | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Semrush Academy | Free | Free | Webinars, no cadence | 9 September 2026 | source |
| HubSpot AEO Fundamentals | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
Live access, price, refund and checked date are imported from the editor's course data and re-verified at least monthly. For the full answers on instructors, testing, platform and AI coverage, each product's review carries a facts table.
If that did not solve it
Every one of the twelve is answered per product, with scores, in the editor's reviews: SEO course reviews.
Sources
Facts on this page were read from the sources above on 10 September 2026. If a provider changes a term, email the page URL and the source and we will correct it.