Can I learn SEO on my own?
Yes. You can learn SEO on your own to a working level using free courses from Ahrefs, Semrush and HubSpot plus a site you control to practice on. The free material covers what the tools measure: keywords, on-page structure, technical audits, links. What it does not give you is dated testing data on what works now, or a practitioner to ask when a tactic stops working. Those are what paid communities sell, and you only need them once you have something to test.
The free path, in order
- Ahrefs SEO Course for Beginners. 14 lessons, two hours, no sign-up. The vocabulary and the workflow.
- Build a site about something you know. Ten pages. This is the step people skip, and it is the one that teaches.
- Semrush Academy. The on-page and keyword research courses, about four hours, with a free certificate if you want one.
- Google Search Console on your own site. Free. Watch impressions and clicks for eight weeks while you make changes.
- One free AI-search primer. HubSpot's AEO Fundamentals (2 hours 20 minutes, certificate) or Ahrefs' AEO course (86 minutes). Either explains how AI answers pick sources.
Where self-teaching stops
Free courses are made by software companies to introduce their tools, and they are honest about that. They teach the stable parts of SEO. They are not updated when Google changes, they publish no experiments, and nobody in them will look at your site. Around month three, when your site exists and your questions become specific, that gap starts to cost you. That is when a community with published tests and live calls is worth paying for, and not before.
What it costs to go further
| Product | Price | Refund | Live access | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tech SEO Pro | $697 once | None | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI SEO Rainmakers | $279/mo | 7 days | Weekly 3.5h call with founder | 9 September 2026 | source |
| The Blueprint Training | $199/mo | None; 30-day cancel notice | 2 live calls/week with founders | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Traffic Think Tank | $119/mo | Not stated; cancel anytime | Not stated | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Yoast AI for SEO training | With Yoast Premium ($118.80/yr) | 30 days on the bundle | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| AI Ranking by DataWise SEO | $27 to $47/mo | 7 days | 2 live calls/week (Pro tier) | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Ahrefs SEO Course for Beginners | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
| Semrush Academy | Free | Free | Webinars, no cadence | 9 September 2026 | source |
| HubSpot AEO Fundamentals | Free | Free | None | 9 September 2026 | source |
If that did not solve it
Not sure whether you have reached the point where paying makes sense? The decision tool asks five questions and says: which SEO course should I take.
Sources
Facts on this page were read from the sources above on 10 September 2026. If a provider changes a term, email the page URL and the source and we will correct it.